20/08/2016, 20:07

SGP star Bartosz Zmarzlik signed off his junior career by completing a senior and junior world title double as Poland retained the FIM Team Speedway Under-21 World Championship in Norrkoping on Saturday.

Zmarzlik followed up his Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup triumph with the Polish seniors in Manchester last month by zooming to 14 points.

Torun star Pawel Przedpelski matched that tally, as the Poles charged to 44 to secure their third consecutive junior gold medal and their ninth overall.

World Under-21 Championship leader Krystian Pieszczek notched nine and Leszno’s Bartosz Smektala scored seven.

It was a day of celebration as Poland saw off Australia (37), Denmark (24) and Sweden (17). But the champions will face a huge test to retain their title as Zmarzlik, Przedpelski and Pieszczek are all too old to compete in 2017.

Australia won silver in Sweden and will take heart from a solid team performance, led by unlikely hero Jake Allen.

The Somerset star, racing in his last under-21 event, underlined his credentials on the world stage with 13 points, beaten only by Zmarzlik and Danish racer Frederik Jakobsen.

With Jack Holder (9), Max Fricke (8) and Brady Kurtz (7) all contributing well and eligible to race in the competition for one more year, the Aussies will fancy their chances of going for gold in 2017.

Monster Energy SWC reserve Jakobsen led the Danish scorechart on 10, while Patrick Hansen added eight as they claimed bronze.

It was a nightmare day for the hosts as Sweden slumped to fourth place, with only World Under-21 finalist Joel Andersson acquitting himself well, scoring 13 of their 17 points.


POLAND 44: Krystian Pieszczek 9, Bartosz Zmarzlik 14, Pawel Przedpelski 14, Bartosz Smektala 7, Daniel Kaczmarek DNR.

AUSTRALIA 37: Brady Kurtz 7, Jake Allen 13, Max Fricke 8, Jack Holder 9, Cameron Heeps DNR.

DENMARK 24: Frederik Jakobsen 10, Mikkel B Andersen 5, Patrick Hansen 8, Andreas Lyager 1, Jonas Jeppsen DNR.

SWEDEN 17: Kenny Wennerstam 0, Joel Kling 1, Filip Hjelmland 3, Joel Andersson 13, Alexander Woentin DNR.


Speedway Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix